Ove H. Berg


The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of J. D. Beck, Commissioner of Labor and Industrial Statistics 1907.

The Wisconsin Blue Book. VII. Biographical Sketches. The Wisconsin Legislature. Assembly, p. 1139

HERMAN L. KERN, Speaker; C. E. SHAFFER, Chief Clerk; W. S. IRVINE, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their services during their term. The speaker is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as speaker. The assembly of 1907 contains 76 republicans, 19 democrats, and 5 social democrats.

Ashland County. (p. 1139) One District. Population, 1900 - 20,176.

OVE H. BERG (Rep.) was born in Schlesvig-Hostein, Germany, Dec. 20, 1840, where he received a good common school education. After his thirty-second year he held several responsible positions, one of which he hfilled for nine successive years from 1872 to 1881 when he emigrated with his family to America and in 1883 finally settled in Ashland, Wis. Here he conducted a meat-market and grocery store in company with his son, M. H. Berg, who now conducts the business alone, O. H. Berg having withdrawn in 1892. In political affairs he has always been a staunch and active republican; has been a member of the republican county committee for twenty-two years and a member of the republican city committee of which he has also served as chairman. At present he is a member of the board of education on which he has served for two terms. He received the nomination for member of the assembly in 1906, and at the general election received 1,796 votes against 733 for Albert F. Fox (Dem.) and 226 votes for Jno. F. Miles (Soc. Dem.).


Contributed to this site by Lori Niemuth


Last Update Monday, 30-Aug-2010 14:39:37 EDT

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.