Chippewa County - WIGenWeb Project logo


Churches of
Chippewa County

United Brethren Church in Bloomer, Chippewa Co., WI.

From "History of United Brethren Church in Bloomer, Chippewa Co., WI.:
1898-1901: Bloomer United Brethren Church
1901-1948: Mary Cain Memorial United Brethren Church
1948-1970: Mary Cain Memorial Ev. United Brethren Church
1970-present Bloomer United Meth. Church

Our History:

1898: United Brethren in Christ church organizes in Bloomer, WI.

1898: Mary Cain & her husb. Isaac, United Brethren missionaries in Africa with roots in Bloomer, are killed

1901: Congregation reorganizes with 11 charter mbrs. & with funding from the United Brethren Young Peoples Soc. of WI. takes the name Mary Cain Memorial United Brethren Church.

1901: Construction of the church building begins

1902: Church bldg. completed.

1911: 111 Mbrs.

1915: Parsonage completed & dedicated

1916: Hosts WI. United Brethren Annual Conference for the 1st of 4 times

1920: Helen Belle Warren, one of sev. United Brethren women pastors in WI. serves as pastor for 6 months

1921: Choir loft & 2 Sunday School rooms added, basement greatly enlarged, hosts Annual Conference

1933: Hosts Annual Conference

1935: One of the 34 churches in the WI. Conference of the United Brethren in Christ, 119 mbrs.

1940's World War II - Belfry Restyled, new wood floor installed in the basement, & a new piano is purchased. We host Annual Conference in 1944

1946: Evangelical Assoc. & United Brethren in Christ merge to form the Ev. United Brethren Church

1950: 172 mbrs.

1951: Uniting service for the WI. Conferences of the United Brethren.

1952: 50th Anniv. of the church bldg., electrical organ & the 1st of the stained glass windows dedicated, all are installed by 1955

1960: 156 members

1961: Chancel cross & dossal dedicated

1968: Meth. Episc. & Ev. United Brethren churches merge to form the United Meth. Church.

1970: 142 mbrs., new church carpeting, new pulpit furniture, church kitchen updated

1972: New choir pews are bought.

1973: Church entry is enclosed. No more snow or ice on the steps.

1977: Church roof is replaced

1978: Church is re-sided.

1979: New hymnals are bought.

1980: 131 mbrs.

1981: Protective glass is installed over stained glass windows

1983: A new Sunday School Wing is added on.

1984: The United Meth. Church celebrates its Bicentennial

1988: "The Last Supper - Is it I?" presented for the 1st time on Maundy Thursday

1990: 142 Mbrs.

1991: The church adds an elevator making our church handicap accessible.

1994: Front porch on parsonage replaced

1996: We get the new United Meth. Hymnals.

1997: The parsonage is given a major upgrade.

1998: 147 mbrs., pastor's study remodeled, Church celebrates 100 yrs. of ministry on Sept. 9th-20th with guest preacher Bishop Sharon Rader.

1999: The church begins a Long Range Planning process.

2000: Secretary's office is remodeled & extensive landscaping of the church's grounds with help from the Bloomer High Ag program is done.

2001: The church kitchen is remodeled & upgraded.

2002: 170 mbrs. An extensive bldg. program is begun. It expands the sanctuary, adds handicap accessible bathrooms, & expands the total church bldg. by 50%. The Parsonage kitchen is also remodeled & new windows are installed downstairs.

Pastors who have served our congregation & Dates served.
S. D. Barden: 1898-1899
N. F. Chapman: 1900
J. S. Bussing: 1901
L. L. Thayer: 1902-1906
O. F. Deever: 1906
Mr. Monsgrave: 1906
S. E. Taylor: 1907
A. O. Whitney: 1908-1909
J. W. Cummings: 1910-1911
H. O. Stevens: 1912
M. Smelcer: 1913-1917
L. E. Strickler: 1917-1920
L. L. Thayer: 1920-1923
F. E. Warren: 1923-1935
Guy Bailey: 1935-1955
Arthur W. Vieth: 1955-1963
Gordon Welch: 1963-1967. *This is interesting because he was a Pastor at Exeland Meth. Church; Exeland, Sawyer Cty., WI. at 1 time.
Edgar Frederick: 1967-1968
Ed Sutton: 1968-1969
Chas. Schultz: 1969-1973
Roger Mealiff: 1973-1976
Michael Ida: 1977-1984
Martin Nolet: 1984-1989
Carson Timblin: 1989-1997
Mark Geisthardt: 1997-present



Contributed by Rosemarie Novak


Last Update Wednesday, 01-Sep-2010 14:29:13 EDT

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.