The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 745


GEO. H. RAY, Speaker; W. A. NOWELL, Chief Clerk; A. M. ANDERSON, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The Assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their service during the term. The Speaker Is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as Speaker. The Assembly of 1901 contains 82 Republicans and 18 Democrats.

DANE-Third District. The towns of Berry, Black Earth, Blue Mounds, Cross Plains, Dane, Fitchburg, Mazomanie, Middleton, Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose, Roxbury, Springdale, Springfield, Vermont, Verona, Westport, and the villages of Belleville, Waunakee, Oregon and Mazomanie. Population, 1900 -22,037. (Changed by apportionment of 1901. Population of new district - 22,467.)

HERMAN FESSENFELD (Dem.), of Black Earth, was born in Milwaukee June 18, 1854, subsequently settling in Iowa county with his parents, where he attended the public schools. In 1882 he settled in Black Earth and engaged in the hardware and machinery business. He has been town treasurer of Black Earth four years and was elected to the assembly in 1900, receiving 2,466 votes, against 2,303 for L. A. Anderson (Rep.).


Transcribed and contributed to this site by Tina S. Vickery



Last Update Monday, 01-Nov-2010 16:47:01 EDT

 Untitled 1

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.