The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 750


GEO. H. RAY, Speaker; W. A. NOWELL, Chief Clerk; A. M. ANDERSON, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The Assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their service during the term. The Speaker Is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as Speaker. The Assembly of 1901 contains 82 Republicans and 18 Democrats.

IOWA COUNTY. Population, 1900 -- 23,114. (Unchanged by apportionment of 1901.)

BJORN HOLLAND (Rep.), of Hollandale, was born in Norway, July 5th, 1841. In 1846 be came with his parents to America and located in La Grange, Walworth county. Six months later the father died. Then began a struggle with the widow and children. In summers the boy worked for farmers; in winter he attended the district school of the neighborhood. In 1861-2-3 be attended for a portion of each year the Albion Academy, in Dane county. He taught district schools for nine terms, and was principal of a private school in Chicago in 1865-9-'70 and '71. In 1865, as one of the firm of Holland Bros., he became interested in merchandising at Moscow and Adamsville. In that business he continued until 1882. Since then he has been a farmer, merchant and stock dealer, living in the new village of Hollandale, a place named after him. He was elected to the assembly in 1898, and again in 1900 by 3,118 votes to 1,902 for Josephas Bailey (Dem.), and 202 for John B. Parmley (Pro.).


Transcribed and contributed to this site by Tina S. Vickery



Last Update Monday, 01-Nov-2010 16:47:31 EDT

 Untitled 1

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.