The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 736-737



The senate is composed of thirty-three members, who hold office for four years and receive $500 each for their services at each regular session. Members of the senate, session of 1901, representing odd numbered districts, were elected In Their terms will end Jan. 1, 1903. Those representing even numbered districts were elected in 1900. Their terms will end Jan. 1, 1905. The lieutenant-governor, is president of the senate, but can vote only in case of a tie. A temporary president, to act in the absence of the president, is chosen by the members the senate. The senate of 1901 contains 31 Republicans and 2 Democrats. Lieutenant-Governor Jesse Stone, president; James J. McGillivray, president pro tem.; Walter L. Houser, chief clerk; C. A. Pettibone, sergeant-at-arms.

TWENTY-SIXTH SENATORIAL DISTRICT. Dane county. Population, 1900 - 69,435.

GEORGE PAUL MILLER (Rep.), of Madison, was born in Sheboygan county Feb. 18, 1868. He was educated in common schools, Sheboygan Falls high school and by a three years' course in Ripon College. He settled in Madison in 1891 and established the Miller Lumber company, a manufacturing and lumber dealing concern of which he is president. He was elected chairman of the Republican City Committee of Madison in 1897 and president of the Republican League Club In 1896. He was elected to the state senate in 1900 by 8,997 votes, against 6,496 for N. C. Evans (Dem.), and 498 for H. A. Miner (Pro.).


Transcribed and contributed to this site by Tina S. Vickery



Last Update Monday, 01-Nov-2010 16:47:56 EDT

 Untitled 1

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.