The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 744-745


GEO. H. RAY, Speaker; W. A. NOWELL, Chief Clerk; A. M. ANDERSON, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The Assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their service during the term. The Speaker Is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as Speaker. The Assembly of 1901 contains 82 Republicans and 18 Democrats.

DANE-Second District. The towns of Albion, Bristol, Christiana, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunkirk, Medina, Pleasant Springs, Sun Prairie, Vienna, Windsor, York and the villages of Deerfield and Sun Prairie, and the city of Stoughton. Population, 1900 -- 21,866. (District changed by apportionment of 1901. Population of new district - 22,510.)

OLE K. ROE (Rep.), of Stoughton, was born Aug. 24, 1861, In the town of Pleasant Springs, Dane county, and got his education in the district school of that town. He was elected treasurer of his town in 1884. He rented his farm and moved to the city of Stoughton the same year. In 1890 he was elected alderman of the Second ward, and held that office for six years, and in 1896 was elected mayor and has held that office to the present time, being re-elected without opposition in 1898 and 1900, and was elected to the assembly Nov. 6, 1900, receiving 3,442 votes, against 1,302 for Edwin Robbins (Dem.).


Transcribed and contributed to this site by Tina S. Vickery



Last Update Monday, 01-Nov-2010 16:47:59 EDT

 Untitled 1

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.