The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 744


GEO. H. RAY, Speaker; W. A. NOWELL, Chief Clerk; A. M. ANDERSON, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The Assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their service during the term. The Speaker Is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as Speaker. The Assembly of 1901 contains 82 Republicans and 18 Democrats.

DANE COUNTY. First District. The towns of Blooming Grove, Burke, Dunn, Madison, Rutland and the city of Madison. Population, 1900-25,532. (District changed by apportionment of 1901. Population of new district - 24,458.)

E. RAY STEVENS (Rep.), of Madison, was born In Barrington, Ill., June 20, 1869, and came to Wisconsin In 1877. He was educated in common schools, the Janesville High school and the University of Wisconsin, graduating from the Law school in 1895. He is the law partner of Burr W. Jones In the firm name of Jones & Stevens. He is a student of “problems of government," and has written many newspaper and magazine articles upon that question, and as special correspondent of The Milwaukee Sentinel wrote a series of articles upon it in Europe fit 1894 from a European standpoint, with special reference to cities. He was elected to the assembly in 1900, receiving 3,468 votes to 2,509 for George W. Levis (Dem.), and 121 for Charles H. Parr (Pro.).


Transcribed and contributed to this site by Tina S. Vickery



Last Update Monday, 01-Nov-2010 16:48:02 EDT

 Untitled 1

WIGenWeb State Coordinator:  Tina Vickery
WIGenWeb Assistante State Coordinator:  Marcia Ann Kuehl
Copyright 2010 by the WIGenWeb Team.  All rights reserved.  Copyright of submitted items belongs to those
responsible for their authorship or creation unless otherwise assigned.